We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

About Us

Executive Committee
Our Executive Committee organises our local campaigns and elections. Officers are elected
annually and we meet monthly. All members are welcome to attend an Executive
meeting. For further information about attending a meeting please contact us at
Chairman Cllr. Shazu Miah
Vice-Chair Cllr. Alan Totty
Secretary Chris Harvey
Treasurer Cllr Fran Oborski
Membership Secretary Clare Cassidy
Young Lib Dems contact Oliver Walker

New Members to the Party are always welcome. Please contact us at


Currently, we have 3 Wyre Forest District Councillors and 2 Kidderminster Town Councillors
representing the Offmore Comberton Ward: Cllr. Fran Oborski MBE, a District Councillor since 1973 and a Kidderminster Town
Councillor since 2016. Fran was previously a County Councillor, representing the St. Chads Division of Worcestershire County Council, for 20 years. On the District Council, Fran leads the Liberal Democrat Group. She is the Council Representative on
the Corporate Parenting Board and Chairs the Wyre Forest Local Children's Panel. An experienced School Governor, Fran is Vice-Chair of King Charles 1 Governors, Vice-Chair of Offmore Primary School Governors, and a Governor of Comberton Primary
School. Fran is also a Trustee of Kidderminster and District Youth Trust.

Cllr Shazu Miah, a District Councillor since 2016 and a Kidderminster Town Councillor since 2021. Shazu was Wyre Forest's LibDem Parliamentary Candidate in Wyre Forest in 2017 and 2019. Shazu is a local Solicitor who owns a Legal Practice with branches in Kidderminster, Tipton, and Worcester. He also owns a thriving Tandoori Restaurant in the Constituency.
Shazu is Treasurer of Offmore Comberton Action Group and a Founder Member of the Friends of St Georges Park. He is also a Committee Member of Wyre Forest in EU.

Cllr Alan Totty. Alan was elected to the District Council in 2018. After nearly two years working in partnership with other parties forming a "Progressive Alliance" the Lib Dem Group reached a point where we felt that being independent again would serve out
residents better. During his time in the Progressive Alliance, Alan was privileged to serve as Chair of the Audit Committee. He is Chair of the Offmore Comberton Action Group (OCAG) Local Plan group, in which capacity Alan spoke at the local plan review and represented the views of the residents of Offmore and Comberton. Alan has worked at Queen Alexandra College in Birmingham for nearly four years. Initially, he worked on the academic side supporting learning but is now working with students after they have formally left the college. Alan supports students in learning independent living skills. The aim is that they
will be able to live independently at some point.

Contact Us

Wyre Forest LibDems can be contacted at: 01562 823911 or by email at: wyreforest.liberaldemocrats@gmail.com

What the Lib Dems believe

Reproduced with permission from http://www.markpack.org.uk/libdem-beliefs/